Screenshot 2021-12-16 06.35.05.png

REDISCOVERY OF THE FIRST FOOTBALL FIELD OF FC BAYERN

The history of the FC Bayern venues is long, most fans are familiar with the stadium on Grünwalder Strasse, the Olympic Stadium and, of course, the arena. But in the early days of football there weren't any venues of this size for a long time - around 1900, FC Bayern, like other Munich clubs, played on the Schyrenwiese, the forest playground near Graefelfing or the Theresienwiese.

FC Bayern was very lucky - thanks to their first great sponsor Friedrich Wamsler sen. - to have your own soccer field by the end of the first year of existence. In the meantime, the exact location of the square and the special merits of the founding members and the Wamsler family have been forgotten.

After long and extensive research in various books, archives, offices, on old maps, on earlier aerial photographs that were still photographed from hot air balloons, we have verifiably rediscovered the first soccer field of FC Bayern.

FC Bayern played at today's Clemensstrasse 50 in Schwabing from 1900 to 1907. The first game on the "Playground on Clemensstrasse" between FC Bayern and MTV 1879 Munich took place on December 2nd, 1900 and ended with 2: 2, Kuno Friederich was the first goalscorer for Bayern on the then new football field. Even the first derby - from today's perspective - (back then there were a number of matches with other Munich clubs) against the gymnastics club 1860 was decided 3-0 for Bavaria on September 21, 1902.

Cooker and oven manufacturer Friedrich Wamsler senior, whose sons Fritz and Carl were among the 17 founding members of FC Bayern, donated the first goals shortly after the club was founded. Towards the end of 1900, Friedrich Wamsler sen. FC Bayern has its fenced-in property on Clemensstrasse at its disposal. The area was just enough for a playing field.
"For the spectators there was only modest accommodation on the long sides and a small side approach in the rear part of the square then later allowed the erection of a changing room of modest dimensions," said Siegfried Herrmann looking back in the FC Bayern club news (April issue 1952).

What sounds simple from today's perspective was a huge achievement for a football club around 1900. Only a few clubs had their own space. As a thank you, FC Bayern appointed Friedrich Wamsler sen. first honorary member on January 9, 1901. The special importance of the family for FC Bayern was also underlined in the obituary for Fritz Wamsler, which ends as follows:

"The name Wamsler is immortal in the history of FC Bayern."


In August 2018, the new memorial plaque at Clemensstrasse 50 was ceremoniously unveiled by the Wamlser and Uli Hoeneß family in front of around 100 invited guests  

We are very happy to have handed over an important first memorial in the club's history to FC Bayern and its supporters.

Screenshot 2021-12-16 06.35.05.png

WIEDERENTDECKUNG DES ERSTEN FUSSBALLPLATZES DES FC BAYERN

Die Geschichte der Spielstätten des FC Bayern ist lang, den meisten Fans ist das Stadion an der Grünwalder Straße, das Olympiastadion oder natürlich die Arena bekannt. Aber in den Anfangszeiten des Fußballsports gab es noch lange keine Spielorte dieser Größenordnung – um das Jahr 1900 spielte der FC Bayern wie auch andere Münchner Vereine auf der Schyrenwiese, dem Waldspielplatz bei Gräfelfing oder der Theresienwiese.

Der FC Bayern hatte das große Glück – dank ihres ersten großen Gönners Friedrich Wamsler sen. – schon gegen Ende des ersten Jahres des Bestehens über einen eigenen Fußballplatz zu verfügen. In der Zwischenzeit geriet die genaue Lage des Platzes und die besonderen Verdienste der Gründungsmitglieder mit Familie Wamsler in Vergessenheit.

Nach langer und umfangreicher Recherche in diversen Büchern, Archiven, Ämtern, auf alten Landkarten, auf früheren Luftbildaufnahmen, die noch aus Heißluftballons fotografiert wurden, haben wir den ersten Fußballplatz des FC Bayern nachweislich wiederentdeckt.

Der FC Bayern spielte an der heutigen Clemensstaße 50 in Schwabing in den Jahren 1900 bis 1907. Das erste Spiel auf dem „Spielplatz an der Clemensstraße“ zwischen dem FC Bayern und dem MTV 1879 München fand am 2. Dezember 1900 statt und endete mit 2:2, Kuno Friederich war der erste Torschütze für die Bayern auf dem damals neuen Fußballplatz. Auch das – aus heutiger Sicht – erste Derby (damals gab es ja eine Vielzahl an Begegnungen mit anderen Münchner Vereinen) gegen den Turnverein 1860 wurde am 21. September 1902 mit 3:0 für Bayern entschieden.

Herd- und Ofenfabrikant Friedrich Wamsler sen., dessen Söhne Fritz und Carl zu den 17 Gründungsmitgliedern des FC Bayern zählten, stiftete kurz nach der Vereinsgründung bereits die ersten Tore. Gegen Ende des Jahres 1900 stellte Friedrich Wamsler sen. dem FC Bayern sein umzäuntes Grundstück an der Clemensstraße zur Verfügung. Die Fläche reichte gerade für ein Spielfeld aus.
„Für die Zuschauer gab es nur an den Längsseiten ein bescheidenes Unterkommen und ein kleiner seitlicher Ansatz im rückwärtigen Teil des Platzes ließ dann später auch noch die Aufstellung einer Umkleidehütte bescheidenen Ausmaßes zu“, so Siegfried Herrmann rückblickend in den Clubnachrichten des FC Bayern (Ausgabe April 1952).

Was sich aus heutiger Sicht schlicht anhört, war für einen Fußballverein um 1900 eine riesige Errungenschaft. Nur wenige Vereine verfügten über einen eigenen Platz. Als Dank ernannte der FC Bayern Friedrich Wamsler sen. am 9. Januar 1901 zum ersten Ehrenmitglied. Die besondere Bedeutung der Familie für den FC Bayern wurde auch in dem Nachruf für Fritz Wamsler unterstrichen, die folgendermaßen endet:

„In der Geschichte des FC Bayern ist der Name Wamsler unvergänglich.“


Im August 2018 wurde die neue Gedenktafel an der Clemensstraße 50 von Familie Wamlser und Uli Hoeneß feierlich vor rund 100 geladenen Gästen enthüllt 

Wir sind sehr froh, damit einen wichtigen ersten Erinnerungsort der Vereinsgeschichte an den FC Bayern und seine Anhänger übergeben zu haben.