Schülein.jpg

GRAVE CARE

An important area of responsibility of the Kurt Landauer Foundation is the care of the graves of people who have made a contribution to FC Bayern Munich. For us, it is primarily about people who have achieved a lot for the club, but are not always in the focus. We don't want to forget these either and hold up the memory of them. At the moment we have taken care of the maintenance of five graves or financed restoration work.

KURT LANDAUER (1884-1961)


In 2017 we took over the care of the Landauer family's grave of Kurt Landauer's nephew Uri Siegel in the New Israelite Cemetery. 

In addition to the seasonal flower planting, we have also carried out major restoration work. In 2019, the large gravestone had to be laboriously dismantled and rebuilt by a stonemason, and a new foundation laid in order to ensure stability.
 
In 2020 we also had the grave rebuilt, it was straightened and new yew trees were planted, so that today you can find a worthy burial site for our honorary president and his family.

MARIA MEISSNER (1911-2008)


In autumn 2018 we took over the care of Maria Meissner's grave in the north cemetery, which we had newly constructed and have been maintaining since then.

The unique story of Maria Meissner as a pioneer of women's football, the good soul of FC Bayern on Säbener Strasse and “mother” of the trophies, which she looked after into old age, will make her unforgettable.

HERRMANN SCHOOL (1884-1970)


Since 2019 we have been taking care of the large family grave of the Schülein family in the New Israelite Cemetery. In coordination with the cemetery administration of the Israelitische Kultusgemeinde we carry out cleaning work and pruning plants.
Herrmann Schülein, who came from the Jewish brewing family Schülein, was a member and a major sponsor of FC Bayern since 1927. He followed in the footsteps of father Joseph, became general director of Löwenbräu, developed it into the largest Bavarian brewery until he had to resign from his position in 1935 under pressure from the Nazis and fled to America. From there, too, he continued to support his Bavarians, including in 1954 through financial support for the expansion of the sports facility on Säbener Strasse.

JOSZEF ZSAMBOKI (1933-2011)


We were referred to this grave of our former player by a Bayern fan who noticed it in the Ostfriedhof and who knew our projects.

Joszef Zsamboki was very successful in hunting goals for FC Bayern in the Oberliga Süd from 1957-1960, and then played in Kassel and Strasbourg. After his career, Zsamboki moved back to Munich.
We found out that the costs for the burial were borne by the city of Munich and in 2019 we had the right to care for the grave site transferred to us. We obtained a special permit from the city in order to be able to integrate a memorial stone with the Bavarian coat of arms here. With the local nursery, we also took care of the new construction and planting of the grave.

 


HEINRICH BERLINER (1903-1940)


Heinrich Berliner - Munich resident, FC Bayern supporter, club member and always happy to attend his Bayern's games in the stadium - one of us you and me, one of us.

But the life of Heinrich Berliner, which began on April 24, 1903 in Munich, did not turn out like ours due to his Jewish roots, but ended hopelessly in suicide on November 9, 1940 due to humiliation and disenfranchisement by the Nazis.
Through research by FC Bayern we became aware of Heinrich Berliner's biography. During a visit to the New Israelite Cemetery in Munich, we looked at the grave of Heinrich Berliner, where the name and the dates on the tombstone were barely recognizable. The restoration of Heinrich Berliner’s tombstone offered by us was accepted with great thanks.

Schülein.jpg

GRABPFLEGE

Ein wichtiges Aufgabenfeld der Kurt Landauer Stiftung ist die Pflege der Grabstätten von Personen, die sich um den FC Bayern München verdient gemacht haben. Uns geht es dabei vor allem auch um Personen, die viel für den Verein geleistet haben, jedoch nicht immer im Fokus standen. Wir wollen auch diese nicht vergessen und die Erinnerung an sie hochhalten. Momentan haben wir für fünf Gräber die Pflege übernommen oder Restaurierungsarbeiten finanziert.

KURT LANDAUER (1884-1961)


2017 übernahmen wir die Pflege für die Grabstätte der Familie Landauer von Kurt Landauers Neffen Uri Siegel auf dem Neuen Israelitischen Friedhof. 

Neben der jahreszeitlichen Blumenbepflanzung haben wir auch große Restaurierungsarbeiten vorgenommen. So musste 2019 der große Grabstein in aufwendiger Arbeit von einem Steinmetz ab- und wieder aufgebaut, sowie ein neues Fundament angelegt werden, um die Standfestigkeit zu sichern. 
2020 haben wir zudem das Grab neu anlegen lassen, es wurde begradigt und bekam eine neue Eibenbepflanzung, sodass man heute eine würdige Grabstätte für unseren Ehrenpräsidenten und dessen Familie vorfindet.

MARIA MEISSNER (1911-2008)


Im Herbst 2018 übernahmen wir die Pflege der Grabstätte von Maria Meissner auf dem Nordfriedhof, welche wir neu anlegen ließen und seitdem pflegen.

Die einzigartige Geschichte Maria Meissners als Pionierin des Frauenfußballs, gute Seele des FC Bayern an der Säbener Straße und „Mutter“ der Pokale, die sie bis ins hohe Alter pflegte, macht sie unvergessen.

HERRMANN SCHÜLEIN (1884-1970)


Seit 2019 kümmern wir uns um das große Familiengrab der Familie Schülein auf dem Neuen Israelitischen Friedhof. In Abstimmung mit der Friedhofsverwaltung der Israelitischen Kultusgemeinde nehmen wir hier Reinigungsarbeiten und Pflanzenrückschnitt vor.
Herrmann Schülein, der aus der jüdischen Brauerfamilie Schülein entstammte, war Mitglied und bereits seit 1927 ein großer Förderer des FC Bayern. Er trat in die Fußstapfen von Vater Joseph, wurde zum Generaldirektor von Löwenbräu, entwickelte diese zur größten bayrischen Brauerei bis er 1935 auf Druck der Nazis von seinem Amt zurücktreten musste und nach Amerika floh. Auch von dort aus unterstützte er weiter seine Bayern, u.a. 1954 durch finanzielle Hilfe beim Ausbau der Sportanlage an der Säbener Straße.

JOSZEF ZSAMBOKI (1933-2011)


Auf dieses Grab unseres ehemaligen Spielers wurden wir von einem Bayernfan hingewiesen, dem es auf dem Ostfriedhof auffiel und der unsere Projekte kannte.

Joszef Zsamboki ging von 1957-1960 sehr erfolgreich für den FC Bayern in der Oberliga Süd auf Torejagd, spielte anschließend in Kassel und Strasbourg. Nach seiner Karriere zog Zsamboki wieder nach München zurück.
Wir fanden heraus, dass die Kosten für das Begräbnis von der Stadt München getragen wurden und haben uns dort 2019 das Betreuungsrecht für die Grabstätte übertragen lassen. Über die Stadt holten wir eine Sondergenehmigung ein, um hier einen Gedenkstein mit Bayern Wappen integrieren zu können. Mit der Gärtnerei vor Ort sorgten wir zudem für die Neuanlage und Bepflanzung des Grabes.

 


HEINRICH BERLINER (1903-1940)


Heinrich Berliner - Münchner, FC Bayern-Anhänger, Vereinsmitglied und stets gerne bei den Spielen seiner Bayern im Stadion dabei – einer wir du und ich, einer von uns.

Doch das Leben von Heinrich Berliner, das am 24. April 1903 in München begann, verlief aufgrund seiner jüdischen Wurzeln nicht wie unser Leben, sondern endete aufgrund von Demütigungen und Entrechtung durch die Nazis am 9. November 1940 aussichtslos im Suizid.
Durch die Recherche des FC Bayern sind wir auf die Biografie von Heinrich Berliner aufmerksam geworden. Bei einem Besuch auf dem Neuen Israelitischen Friedhof in München haben wir das Grab von Heinrich Berliner angesehen, wo der Name und die Daten auf dem Grabstein kaum noch erkennbar waren. Die von uns angebotene Restauration des Grabsteins von Heinrich Berliner wurde mit großem Dank angenommen.